The National Executive Committee (NEC) of the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party has made a decision to expel five members. According to a statement released on Wednesday, the NEC determined that these five individuals had violated the party’s directives and engaged in serious misconduct. The individuals facing expulsion are Members of Parliament Elisha Odhiambo (Gem), Gideon Ochanda (Bondo), Felix Odiwuor ‘Jalang’o’ (Lang’ata), Caroli Omondi (Suba South), and Kisumu Senator Tom Ojienda.

In contrast, Rongo MP Paul Abuor and Uriri counterpart Mark Nyamita have been fined Ksh.1 million each, with a 60-day deadline for payment. The party explained that these two lawmakers appeared before its disciplinary committee and provided reasons for their actions, leading to a reprimand rather than expulsion.

Furthermore, the political party led by Raila Odinga has also decided to nullify the nominations of certain Members of the Kisumu County Assembly (MCAs), specifically Caroline Opar, Kennedy Ajwang’, Peter Obaso, and Regina Kizito.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cookie Code Update cookies preferences